Australian government sanctions three MH17 culprits

AAP logo AAP 23.06.2023 15:24:27 Paul Osborne
The Australian government has sanction three of the men responsible for downing flight MH17.

Three men involved in the downing of Malaysia Airlines flight MH17 have been sanctioned by the Australian government.

The government has been working with the Netherlands and European Union to co-ordinate sanctions on the trio convicted by the District Court of The Hague in November 2022 for their contribution to the downing of MH17 and the murder of all 298 people on board, including 38 Australian citizens or residents.

The sanctions target Russian Sergey Dubinskiy and Ukrainian national Leonid Kharchenko, who were both found guilty in the court and sentenced to life in jail.

Australia has also sanctioned Russian national Sergey Muchkaev, a colonel with the Russian Armed Forces.

Muchkaev in July 2014 was the commander of the 53rd Anti-Aircraft Missile Brigade, which supplied the Buk-TELAR missile system that downed MH17.

Another convicted perpetrator, Igor Girkin, was sanctioned by Australia in 2014 for supporting separatist activity in eastern Ukraine.

"As either separatist leaders within the so-called 'People's Republic of Donetsk' at the time of the downing of Flight MH17, or a member of the Russian Armed Forces, the three people sanctioned actively supported actions and policies that threatened the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine," Foreign Minister Penny Wong said.

"These sanctions demonstrate the Australian government's ongoing commitment to hold to account those responsible for the downing of flight MH17."

She said Australia was committed to seeking "truth, justice and accountability" for the victims and would pursue all available avenues.

"Our thoughts remain with those who lost their lives, their families and loved ones," Senator Wong said.

Australia has called on Russia to co-operate with the Netherlands to ensure the perpetrators serve their sentences in the Dutch legal system.

vendredi 23 juin 2023 18:24:27 Categories: AAP

  • RSS

Suomi sisu kantaa
NorpaNet Beta - Firebird 5.0 Initial LI-T6.3.0.40

TetraSys Oy.

TetraSys Oy.