The Hill

Upton becomes first member of Congress to vote to impeach two presidents

The Hill logo The Hill 14/01/2021 20:31:32 Justine Coleman
Fred Upton wearing a suit and tie: Upton becomes first member of Congress to vote to impeach two presidents © Greg NashUpton becomes first member of Congress to vote to impeach two presidents

Rep. Fred Upton (R-Mich.) became the first member of Congress to vote to impeach two presidents on Wednesday, following the House impeachment of President Trump.

Upton previously voted to impeach former President Bill Clinton in the 1990s.

Upton was one of 10 Republicans who voted to impeach Trump for "incitement of insurrection" after a pro-Trump mob attacked and vadalized the Capitol last week.

The Michigan representative joined Reps. Liz Cheney (Wyo.), Adam Kinzinger (Ill.), Tom Rice (S.C.), Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio), Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.), John Katko (N.Y.), Peter Meijer (Mich.), Dan Newhouse (Wash.) and David Valado (Calif.) in supporting the single article of impeachment against Trump.

Out of these Republicans, only Upton was in the House during the impeachment proceedings for Clinton in 1998, which revolved around the former president denying a sexual relationship with White House intern Monica Lewinsky.

At the time, Upton voted in favor of three of four articles of impeachment against Clinton, agreeing with all except the allegation that the president abused his power. Two of the articles he supported - alleging perjury in front of a grand jury and obstruction of justice - ended up passing the House.

Five Democrats voted in support of at least one article of impeachment against Clinton: former Reps. Virgil Goode (Va.), Ralph Hall (Texas), Paul McHale (Pa.), Charles Stenholm (Texas) and Gene Taylor (Miss.). But none of them were still serving in the House during either impeachment of Trump.

The Senate ended up acquitting Clinton of both articles in 1999.

During Trump's first impeachment proceedings - which centered around accusations that Trump asked Ukraine to interfere in the 2020 election in exchange for military aid - none of the Republicans in the House supported the articles alleging abuse of power and obstruction of justice.

Only Sen. Mitt Romney (R-Utah) voted to convict Trump on one of the articles, allowing for the president's acquittal in the Senate.

The Senate trial for Trump's second impeachment is expected to take place after President-elect Joe Biden takes office next week. At least 17 Republican senators would need to vote with the 50 Democratic senators for Trump to be convicted.

Supporters of the president violently attacked the Capitol last week after the Trump encouraged them "to show strength" and "fight like hell" in their opposition of the Electoral College results.

The attacks, which resulted in five deaths, temporarily stalled Congress' certification of Biden's election win.

14. tammikuuta 2021 22:31:32 Categories: The Hill

  • RSS
Suomi sisu kantaa
NorpaNet Beta - Firebird 3.0 WI-V6.3.6.33265

TetraSys Oy.

TetraSys Oy.